The Recruiting Game

May the odds be evah in your favor.

Help me help you.

Frankly my dear, I don't give a damn.

These memorable lines from hit Hollywood movies could all be applied to the Recruiting Game. In fact, I could probably do a post of nothing but cinematic catch phrases to describe this dance.

You see, periodically while donning my recruiting hat I come face to face with The Good, The Bad and The Ugly (I'm sorry – j'adore le cinema and couldn't resist!) and so thought I might share some previews with you.

Perhaps if you want a higher response rate to your job queries you could focus on the good below so you too can become a coming attraction.

Roll 'em!

The Good

Candidates in this group make the recruiter's job easier – much like Jerry Maguire they help me help you

  • follow directions
  • submit what the ad calls for
  • include your contact info (yes on every piece of digital paper)
  • be brief, to the point, show that you meet qualifications
  • professional in language and style
  • include white space on resume (so I can read it)

The Bad

These people struggle: they might have been closer but in a competitive market they needlessly increase the distance between themselves and solid candidates.

As in The Hunger Games you're gonna need help with the odds if you fall into this group

  • typos
  • not stating qualifications
  • referencing departed former employees (they can't help you anymore)
  • open with “Dear Sir/Madam” (try just saying good morning, or hi)
  • redundant info (I know I can get your references, thank you)
  • extraneous info (I don't really care about your social life)

The Ugly

Frankly my dear I don't give a damn… I can see Rhett Butler turning and walking away (like any good Southern boy I idolize Rhett) when faced with these inexcusable candidates whose paper is now Gone With the Wind

  • unrecognizable words (not typos – these are words that don't exist)
  • slang or curse words (yes, it happens)
  • mismatched fonts (what are you doing?)
  • dissing your former employer
  • multiple emails with no new info
  • haranguing phone calls

If you'd like to get that leading role, or even a supporting part as you move forward in your career, you are going to have to think like a casting director and put yourself in the best light. Since I don't know you I can only rely on what you share.

Help me help you by ensuring your script is a good one so I can pass it on to the producers.

 

7 thoughts on “The Recruiting Game

  1. Very good one. Do you forgive foreign applicants for a formal “Dear Sir/Madam” or “Dear Mr.”? People from more formal cultures always cringe when they should write “Good morning” or “Dear + first name” on an application letter.

  2. This is a very fun (but relevant) post – I’m imagining so many movie lines that would fit into the recruiting category. And to sum it up…from the recruiter’s perspective: “Mama always said life was like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re gonna get.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

