Two Yutes

There is an incredibly funny scene in My Cousin Vinny involving two yutes.

Well, funny to me as I have friends in NYC and in the South (natch) so I run into accent and grammar questions constantly. Like, a lot.

Anyway, I was reminded of the disconnect in Yutes last week after talking to two different recruiters. Like you perhaps I am always willing to listen to a call, and even if the role is not a fit for me, I can often refer candidates.

Lesson 1: if you can refer quality candidates do so. That is how commerce and karma works

In both cases the role utlimately proved too low level for me but I want to contrast the differences.

Recruiter number one reached out to me via phone, which isn’t hard to do since I have my number plastered everywhere.

Lesson 2: make it easy for recruiters to find you if you are interested in new opportunities

She reached me, set a time for a call, and, when we spoke more in depth she did a fine job of describing the need and the opportunity and clearly painted the demands and upside of the role. Here’s what she did:

  • Controlled the screening call not letting me wander away from point
  • Clarified any of my answers that weren’t settled for her
  • Ensured I understood the reporting relationships
  • Tested my existing knowledge of the firm
  • Carefully walked through my last several positions
  • Talked general salary ranges and bonus plans
  • Set up a time for a follow-up clearly managing my expectations

Now, in the end, I had to opt out but over a number of phone calls and emails I felt like I was working with a professional. I was happy to refer her to other candidates, and yes, we’re connected on LinkedIn. This is, frankly, how it’s done.

Lesson 3: when working with a recruiter be professional. You never know who knows whom

On to our second case, keeping in mind it was the same week.

I got an email (again, easy to find – I want to make the recruiter’s job easier) asking if I could speak about a role. Sure, I replied, and gave some times.

The recruiter missed the first window, left me a voicemail at a time I wasn’t available, and made me call him back.

Lesson 4: try to reach out when you’ve agreed to – it makes candidates wonder how competent you are if you don’t

Ultimately he was able to reach me at a mutually agreed-upon time. Here was his process:

  • I have a role you night be good for; tell me about yourself (uh, you have my resume – can you read?)
  • What comp do you need? (Wouldn’t you like to sell me on the role/opportunity first?)
  • We can’t afford that (no shit – you’re offering pennies but want dollars – it don’t work that way)
  • Bye

See the difference? No relationship, no bonding and no referrals. By the way – I actually know thousands of people – I have been doing this a long time and can get you a referral. But recruiter number 2 was so busy trying to find cheap talent he never asked.

It’s worth noting that the first recruiter is in-house (works for the company) while the second is an agency recruiter. Is that why they had different styles? I don’t know.

What I do know is I now have another contact that I have some professional respect for and as our careers twist and turn I’ll certainly help her in any way if I’m able. Recruiter 2? Already forgotten his name.

You get to recruit and be courted any way you want.

Just remember the two Yutes ain’t always the same.

One thought on “Two Yutes

  1. Pingback: January at a Glance | ChristopherinHR

Leave a Reply

